For those of you who know me well, know I like to be as natural as I can concerning my dogs.

This afternoon I decided today is a good day to start making my own dog treats. I went outside and got a packet of chicken  giblets from the freezer. I had to work quickly in case I changed my mind to do this. It’s quite a daunting task to cut up a kg of giblets into 1 cm cubes. At least I had company. There were 3 very attentive pups lying quietly at my feet. 

 

After 2 hours of cutting I finally had 1 large baking tray packed with cubed meat. You have to be careful so they don’t touch each other otherwise they won’t dry evenly. You also have to make sure the pieces of meat is about the same size and hight.  

There’s still a tub of cut up meat in the fridge for tomorrow morning. Jus in case this batch didn’t turn out well at least nothing got wasted.

 

I read the meat has to stay in the oven for about 4 hours at 70 degrees celsius. I left mine for an extra hour just to make sure they were done. You don’t want the treats to go rancid. The dogs did quality control at the 4 hour mark, and again after 5 hours.  They didn’t mind which ever way. 

 

Later tonight I also read you had to put the treats in a 150 degree oven for about 10 minutes. We’ll see how they are after they have cooled. It’s amazing how much drying meat shrinks. I never realised.  

I’m sure this will actually work out cheaper than buying expensive 1 ingredient treats at a shop or even online. 

These treats are such high value. Everyone was willing to work for them. Let’s hope there’s a future for me in dehydrating my own dog treats.

